City Administration

Todd Fahning, Community Development 608-269-4340 ext. 232

Mark Sund, Finance 608-269-4340 ext. 222

City Clerks Office

City Clerk Julie Hanson 269-4340 Ext. 221

Deputy Clerk Jennifer Lydon 269-4340 Ext. 241

Public Works Department (Streets, Sewer & Water)

Public Works Director Mark Van Wormer 269-4340 x 228

Water Utility Supervisor Todd Hanson 269-4340 x 226

Wastewater Treatment Plant Manager Dale Passehl

269-4340 x 227

Utility Billing Clerk Jan Becker 269-4340 x 226

Municipal Court

Municipal Judge Mark Magnus 608-269-4340 x 237

Municipal Court Clerk Andrea Ziegler 269-4340 x 237

City Attorney James Hellman 269-4340 x 225

Treasurer’s Department

Treasurer Mark Sund 269-4340 x 222

City Accountant Gail Clark- 269-4340 x 227

Payroll Clerk Judy Schmidt- 269-4340 x 223

Treasurer’s Cashier Barb Schmitz 269-4340 x 233

Sparta Parks & Recreation Department

Recreation Director Brad Gilbertson 269-6322

Recreation Specialist Ryan Pawlish 269-6322

Secretary Joanie Blixt 269-6322

Community Development

Building Inspection, Zoning, Code Enforcement, Block Grants

Director of Community Development  Todd Fahning 269-4340 x 232

Community Development/CDBG Assistant Jennifer Lydon 269-4340 x 241

Police Department

Chief of Police Emilee Nottestad 269-3122

Fire Department

Emergency Dial 911

Fire Chief Mike Arnold- 608-269-5493


Sparta Free Library

Library Director Shanneon Grant-  269-2010

City Assessor

The City of Sparta contracts for all assessor services. Please see the contact information below.

Accurate Appraisal, LLC


Citizen Request